For Staff Employees
Accounts for staff employees leaving Williams will stop working at the end of the last work day. Access to files including Williams email, file services (F drive, G drive, Helen, Hector), PeopleSoft, Google calendar, Google Drive and other accounts on the Williams network will stop at that time.
You should meet with your supervisor or department head to go over these details in advance of your end date.
Checklist for Employees
✓ Transfer the ownership of Google Drive files to another Williams account
Files on the Google Drive/G-Suite should have their ownership changed – preferably by you before you leave. You can select multiple files and change their ownership in bulk. Or create a folder specifically for this purpose, put files to transfer in it, then select them all and make your supervisor or successor the owner (don’t just share it, make them the owner). There is no need to delete files and we suggest you don’t.
| Follow this link to see Google Drive files you own | Google documentation on ownership | specific Williams instructions for changing ownership
✓ Move personal files away from your Google Drive
Use Google’s Takeout tool to create and download an archive of the Google Docs you own.
✓ Move personal files away from your computer or your F drive (files2 or files3)
Copy any personal files to another medium, which could be a flash drive, external hard drive, or cloud storage (for example personal Google, Microsoft or Apple accounts).
✓ Copy personal Williams email to your personal Gmail account
There are several options for copying email to a personal account. IMPORTANT: If you choose option 1 (the Google Mail Fetcher) it can take a week or more to migrate all your mail, so don’t wait to start moving it!
| Saving email instructions |
✓ Take your contacts, too!
Export your contacts to Google CSV format for importing into a another email account.
✓ Do you have any Google Calendars you’ve shared with the department?
You may grant another user access to edit and make changes to a calendar, but once your account is deleted, the calendar will also be deleted. Export the calendar’s events and import them into the new calendar before the account is deleted to prevent losing the calendar.
✓ Delete voicemail messages and reset the PIN
Be sure to review and act on any existing voicemail messages then delete them. Change the greeting to indicate you are no longer at the college and not receiving voicemail. If appropriate provide alternate contact information.
Checklist for Supervisors
✓ Prepare for employee’s account closing
Prepare for employee’s Williams accounts closing, usually the last day of employment. HR, not OIT, approves and arranges extending the account expiration date of an exiting employee.
✓ Confirm the transfer of ownership of Google Apps documents, blogs, and accounts from exiting employee to another Williams account
Confirm the transfer of ownership of Google Docs from exiting employee to another Williams account, preferably a departmental account since those accounts are not likely to be deleted. You can do a search from your own Google Drive for items owned by the departing employee to see if there is anything remaining to transfer.
✓ Export/Import Shared Google calendars’ Events
You may grant another user access to edit and make changes to a calendar, but once your account is deleted, the calendar will also be deleted. Export the calendar’s events and import them into the new calendar before the account is deleted to prevent losing the calendar. Note that this export and import does not include attendee information so some future meetings or events may need to be transferred individually. Secondary calendars can have their ownership changed.
✓ Decide what will happen with the computer and its data left behind by the exiting employee
Exiting employee’s computer data can be saved, stored, or shared; otherwise all data will be deleted when the computer is re-imaged and made ready for the next employee. Contact Desktop Systems to arrange this at email@example.com